ChristianConnection
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A Place for Fellowship and Fun

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

When to say no to your mom?

Go down 
+3
Spunkn
Paulie079
Strider1002
7 posters
AuthorMessage

When to say no to your mom? Empty
PostSubject: When to say no to your mom?   When to say no to your mom? EmptySat Sep 14, 2013 7:30 pm

I've been a little frustrated lately because I feel like my mom is taking advantage of me.  She was never there for me my whole life.  Even when I lost my first trucking job when I was an over-the-road driver, I would often spend my whole paycheck making sure they had plenty of food and their bills were paid, but when I was no longer employed, I was treated like a burden and was pushed out.  

Now that she lives here in Michigan, she expects me to take care of her.  Not in a way that meets her needs, but her wants.  She's always throwing up hints and guilt trips about what she wants or expects me to do for her.  She already has me paying her cable, but I told her to get basic cable and she went with a more expensive version.  I have an older laptop and am considering saving up to get a newer one and she keeps pressuring me to buy a new one right now so she can have my laptop AND wants me to pay for her to have internet.  

I gave her my phone because the other one wasn't good enough so she can get online.  I keep trying to explain to her that I'm on a limited budget right now because I'm trying to catch up on rent and can't afford a laptop and other things at the moment.  I have more important things to buy.

But when I get a little something for myself, like my new Kindle, I'm made to feel guilty that I spend my own money on myself when my little sister (Heaven forbid) goes without a phone.  I'm doing what I can to help others out, but it's like people are watching me and what I do with my money, as if they have a claim on it.